Logo




Section: Opinion

As Manual Transmissions Die at BMW, What Does it Mean for MINI?

MotoringFile Sections: In the Press, Opinion Jul 8th, 2015 18 Comments

F56_JCW_2117

The head of BMW M recently came out with a hint (you pay attention to those when they’re from auto execs) that manual transmissions might not make it into all M cars in the future. He told Autocar “from a technical standpoint, the future doesn’t look bright for manual gearboxes. The DCT and auto ’boxes are faster and they have better fuel consumption.”

Naturally if M cars (BMWs that cater to the enthusiast) drop the beloved manual then we certainly can’t expect normal BMWs to carry the torch much longer. But what if anything does that mean for MINIs? continued →

MF Petition: Let’s Bring Back The Rear Fog Lights!

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, Opinion, Production, Safety Jun 19th, 2015 36 Comments

JCW_F56_5485-highResSince we published the list of equipment changes for the 2016 Model Year, there’s been an on-going debate about rear fog lights. For those of you new to this, MINI USA has decided to remove the rear fog lights as an option starting with 2016 MINIs. We believe, like many of you, that this might not be the best decision. continued →

What Do You Think of the F56 John Cooper Works?

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, Opinion Jun 6th, 2015 52 Comments

F56_JCW_2093More than a month ago we had the chance to drive one of the first 2015 John Cooper Works Hardtop in the US. Since then, friends of MotoringFile have had a chance to spend some quality time with the car. We also heard here and there that a number of people have taken delivery of the new JCW. And most recently, European automative journalists released their reviews following a MINI Europe Press Event dedicated to the most powerful MINI of the FXX generation. What we don’t know is what MotoringFile readers that have tested or bought the car think of it. So please chime in. We want to know it all, the good, the bad and the ugly! continued →

Opinion: Test-Driving Is Broken

MotoringFile Sections: Opinion, Sales May 27th, 2015 16 Comments

MINI Dealerships are #1 in customer satisfactionAvid MotoringFile readers and White Roof Radio listeners know that we are due for a new car by the end of this year. Being on the market for a new vehicle is always exciting. You first come up with a few choices, then you refine said choices through research and test-drives. We’ve taken quite a few cars for test-drives over the past few months and it has been surprisingly frustrating. continued →


Cross-Shopping the F56 JCW with the MkVII Golf R

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, MINI Competitors, MotoringFile Garage, Opinion Apr 15th, 2015 28 Comments

2015_golf_r_4411As discussed in the last episode of White Roof Radio, Todd spent most of last week driving a 2015 4-door Golf GTI. His impression was rather positive, so positive in fact, that we dedicated almost half of the show talking about his experience and how it compares to the F56. While Gabe has also praised the GTI in the past, this weekend was our turn to test-drive Volkswagen’s Hot Hatch. continued →

The Future Of The Auto Industry In One Chart

MotoringFile Sections: In the Press, Opinion, Technology Apr 13th, 2015 6 Comments

213450

As evangelized in Back to the Future Part II, 2015 is supposed to be the year of hoverboards and flying cars (Note: If you don’t know what we’re talking about, stop reading this post and go watch the entire BTTF series now). Sadly, 2015 will probably not be the year of flying DeLoreans, or more appropriately, flying MINIs. With that in mind, we asked our readers last month in what ways could MINI innovate. Coming with up with a tangible answer on such an open-ended question is difficult, but Morgan Stanley Analyst Adam Jonas has provided a context that could help us think further about this matter. continued →


MINI UK Set New Sales Record In Q1 2015

MotoringFile Sections: Opinion, Sales Apr 8th, 2015 1 Comment

F55_4DoorHardtop (104)We rarely write about individual country sales figures, but given the outstanding performance of MINI UK, this is worth a mention. The brand managed to break yet another sales record for the first quarter of the year with 14,961 cars sold. It’s the strongest quarter one sales figures since the brand relaunch in 2001. Unsurprisingly, the main driver behind this outstanding number is the Hardtop lineup with a staggering 265% sales increase since 2014. continued →

Browse Pages:   Next Page »    Next Page »

Sort by MINI model

MotoringFile on Instagram








MINI Model Cheat Sheet

1st Gen MINI
R50: One & MC Hatch
R52: All 1st Gen MINI Convt.
R53: MCS Hatch
2nd Gen MINI
R55: Clubman
R56: Hatch
R57: Convertible
R58: Coupe
R59: Roadster
R60: MINI Crossover
R61: MINI Crossover Coupe
3rd Gen MINI
F54: Clubman
F55: Five Door Hatch
F56: Hatch
F57: Convertible
F60: MINI Crossover
F58: Traveller

Advertise with MotoringFile

If you or your company are interested in advertising on the most influential MINI website in the world, please visit our Advertising section. If you have further questions about becoming a sponsor or would like to see our rate sheet please feel free to contact us directly.
mini mini
Translate MotoringFile with Google: 
 
2015 F56 JCW

MotoringFile Buyers Guides

R50 ('02-'06 MC) Buyers Guide
R53 ('02-'06 MCS) Buyers Guide

BF

SF



MotoringFile Reviews

Reviews:
'12 JCW Coupe
'11 Fiat 500 Sport
'11 Tesla Roaster 2.5 '11 Countryman Comparo
'11 Cooper S Hatch
'11 Countryman MCS (FWD)
'11 Countryman MC (auto)
'10 Mayfair MCS (auto)
'11 Countryman MCS (ALL4)
'10 MINI E
'10 Tesla Roadster Sport
'09 Cooper S Convertible
'09 JCW Hatch
'09 JCW Clubman
JCW Stage I vs JCW Stage II
'08 Clubman S (Auto)
1st Drive: '08 MINI Clubman
'08 Smart Fourtwo
Comparison: '08 BMW 135i
'06 R53 MCS vs '07 R56 MCS
'07 R56 JCW (Stage 1)
'07 MINI Cooper S Long Term
'07 BMW Z4 M Coupe
'07 MINI Cooper & Cooper S
Audio: '07 MC/MCS at the Track
'06 JCW GP Long term
Reader Review: JCW GP
'06 JCW Cooper S Long Term
Comparison: '06 Lotus Elise
Comparison: '06 Mazda MX5
Comparison: '06 UK Focus ST
Comparison: '06 Civic Si
Comparison: '04 TVR T350
Comparison: '06 Nissan 350z
Comparison: '06 VW GTI w/DSG
Podcast: Cooper S Auto
Podcast: BMW 325i
Podcast: JCW MC Soundkit
'04 JCW MINI Cooper Tuning Kit
'05 MCS: One Month Review
'05 MCS Auto
'05 JCW S 1st Drive
'05 MINI Cooper
'05 MCS Conv. Long Term
'05 MINI Cooper S
'05 MCS Cabrio 1st Drive
'04 JCW MCS First Drive
'04 MC w/JCW Tuning Kit
BMW M3 SMG Vs. MCS
'04 MINI Cooper CVT
'02 MCS 3 year Review
Autocrossing the MINI Range


cafepress