Logo




Section: Reviews

MotoringFile Review: The 2016 F56 MINI JCW

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, Reviews Jul 27th, 2015 No Comments

Today we go in-depth with the 2016 JCW MINI. However if you’d like to take a step back and read something a bit more high level first, head over to our appropriately named High Level Review of the car, which Alex published yesterday. Now, read on for our first take of the new MINI JCW in both auto and manual forms.

F56_JCW_0137_web

The F56 MINI JCW is the most complete performance product the brand has ever created. That was the revelation I had as I was thundering up a long stretch of two lane highway in 3rd gear. The suspension calibration, the engine’s constant onslaught to torque and the measured feedback flowing through the wheel, gear lever, throttle, and brake pedals make the new JCW rewarding in the best sense of the word.

The revised 228hp 2.0L four cylinder finally takes the JCW brand where we’ve all wanted it to go. From a stop, it’s now possible to lose traction going from 1st to 2nd, 2nd to 3rd and yes, even 3rd to 4th. But forget the numbers for a second. It’s the responsiveness of the engine throughout the rev range that makes this JCW so different than anything that came before it. It makes sense given the fact that this is a 2.0L of course. But the quality of feedback is such that the JCW doesn’t just feel fast. It feels like a premium product that has been expertly engineered and designed to exactly what it is. The fastest MINI you can buy. As much as we’ve loved previous JCW products, none of them feel nearly this thorough in execution and as satisfying in overall driving experience. continued →

2015 MINI JCW Press Event Day 2: High-Level Review

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, Podcast, Reviews Jul 26th, 2015 8 Comments

2015 JCW Mini  Hardtop Americas Launch Event.I’ve been waiting for this day since MINI unveiled the F56 John Cooper Works concept in Detroit 18 months ago. With a good amount of driving on the twisty roads of New York State, some racing and auto-crossing, this part of the JCW press event has given me a good idea of what this new car is capable of. continued →

2015 MINI JCW Press Event Day 1: Introduction

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, Podcast, Reviews Jul 24th, 2015 4 Comments

2015 JCW Mini Hardtop Americas Launch Event.It all started from San Francisco. After a long day of meetings concluded by dinner and drinks with clients, we headed back to Boston. The plan is to drive our 135i Coupe to New Haven, CT where three days of MINI John Cooper Works fun and drive await us. continued →

2015 MINI JCW Press Event Day 0: Thank You Note

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, Podcast, Reviews Jul 23rd, 2015 2 Comments

2015 JCW Mini  Hardtop Americas Launch Event.18 months ago while I was listening to White Roof Radio, DB and Todd asked their audience for help. They were about to embark on yet another MTTS and needed interns to support the show during this fantastic road trip. Since my plan was to attend MTTS anyways, I immediately volunteered. It also gave me an opportunity to give back to my favorite podcast. Note that at the time, I had no idea how I would get from San Francisco to Boston, I just trusted that everything would work itself out. And it did. It was a phenomenal trip that keeps going a year later. Let’s hope it continues for many more miles. continued →


2015 MINI John Cooper Works Reviews Galore

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, In the Press, JCW, Reviews May 12th, 2015 47 Comments

F56_JCW_1964As seen on MotoringFile, the new MINI John Cooper Works is in full launch mode. As such, our colleagues from various automotive news outlet have release their initial review of the most powerful MINI yet. While we won’t dwell on the mechanical specs of the car – we’re sure you must know them all by now – here is what Auto Express and Auto Car have to say about this new JCW. continued →

Five Facts that Make the Five Door MINI

MotoringFile Sections: F55 Four-Door Hardtop, MotoringFile Garage, Reviews Apr 28th, 2015 28 Comments

MINI_F55

We recently spent a week with the new MINI 5 door after living with an F56 MINI three door hatch for the past five months. How does it compare? We’ve got five reasons it might be the MINI to get. continued →


2015 MINI John Cooper Works: First Drive Live On Periscope

MotoringFile Sections: F56 Two-Door Hardtop, JCW, Reviews Apr 16th, 2015 5 Comments

JCW_F56_LAOne of our local dealers just received a 2015 John Cooper Works and we are about to take it for a spin. Starting at 5:45pm EST, you’ll be able to watch our test-drive live on Periscope here: https://t.co/mX71VfNMyg. Apologies in advance for the setup, but this the best we can do for now. We’ll share our impressions on another post later this evening.

Browse Pages:   Next Page »    Next Page »

Sort by MINI model

MotoringFile on Instagram








MINI Model Cheat Sheet

1st Gen MINI
R50: One & MC Hatch
R52: All 1st Gen MINI Convt.
R53: MCS Hatch
2nd Gen MINI
R55: Clubman
R56: Hatch
R57: Convertible
R58: Coupe
R59: Roadster
R60: MINI Crossover
R61: MINI Crossover Coupe
3rd Gen MINI
F54: Clubman
F55: Five Door Hatch
F56: Hatch
F57: Convertible
F60: MINI Crossover
F58: Traveller

Advertise with MotoringFile

If you or your company are interested in advertising on the most influential MINI website in the world, please visit our Advertising section. If you have further questions about becoming a sponsor or would like to see our rate sheet please feel free to contact us directly.
mini mini
Translate MotoringFile with Google: 
 
2015 F56 JCW

MotoringFile Buyers Guides

R50 ('02-'06 MC) Buyers Guide
R53 ('02-'06 MCS) Buyers Guide

BF

SF



MotoringFile Reviews

Reviews:
'12 JCW Coupe
'11 Fiat 500 Sport
'11 Tesla Roaster 2.5 '11 Countryman Comparo
'11 Cooper S Hatch
'11 Countryman MCS (FWD)
'11 Countryman MC (auto)
'10 Mayfair MCS (auto)
'11 Countryman MCS (ALL4)
'10 MINI E
'10 Tesla Roadster Sport
'09 Cooper S Convertible
'09 JCW Hatch
'09 JCW Clubman
JCW Stage I vs JCW Stage II
'08 Clubman S (Auto)
1st Drive: '08 MINI Clubman
'08 Smart Fourtwo
Comparison: '08 BMW 135i
'06 R53 MCS vs '07 R56 MCS
'07 R56 JCW (Stage 1)
'07 MINI Cooper S Long Term
'07 BMW Z4 M Coupe
'07 MINI Cooper & Cooper S
Audio: '07 MC/MCS at the Track
'06 JCW GP Long term
Reader Review: JCW GP
'06 JCW Cooper S Long Term
Comparison: '06 Lotus Elise
Comparison: '06 Mazda MX5
Comparison: '06 UK Focus ST
Comparison: '06 Civic Si
Comparison: '04 TVR T350
Comparison: '06 Nissan 350z
Comparison: '06 VW GTI w/DSG
Podcast: Cooper S Auto
Podcast: BMW 325i
Podcast: JCW MC Soundkit
'04 JCW MINI Cooper Tuning Kit
'05 MCS: One Month Review
'05 MCS Auto
'05 JCW S 1st Drive
'05 MINI Cooper
'05 MCS Conv. Long Term
'05 MINI Cooper S
'05 MCS Cabrio 1st Drive
'04 JCW MCS First Drive
'04 MC w/JCW Tuning Kit
BMW M3 SMG Vs. MCS
'04 MINI Cooper CVT
'02 MCS 3 year Review
Autocrossing the MINI Range


cafepress